Meet the new Tuna Australia Board

Tuna Australia is pleased to announce the appointment of four new Directors to its Board for the next two years. Pavo Walker from Walker Seafoods Australia (Mooloolaba), Hayley Abbott from Narooma Seafood Direct (South Coast NSW), Cathal “George Clooney” Farrell from Upscale Fisheries (Coffs Harbour) and Terry Romaro OAM from Ship Agencies Australia (Fremantle, WA) were appointed to the Tuna Australia board through a nomination process and ballot at the recent Annual General Meeting.

Newly appointed Director Cathal Farrell

These new Directors replace Jim Uttleymoore, Paul Williams, John Skoljarev and John Abbott, most of whom will remain involved with the Board as alternate Directors.  Tuna Australia Independent Chair, Richard Stevens OAM, thanked outgoing Directors for their service.

“I am very grateful for the hard work and strategic direction that these four industry champions have provided to Tuna Australia over the last two years.  Under their guidance, Tuna Australia has grown into a strong and united industry association which is now well placed to meet the challenges of the tuna longline sector into the future”.

At the same time, Richard welcomed the appointment of new industry leaders to the Board of Tuna Australia.

“Pavo, Hayley, “George” and Terry bring a wealth of experience to the Board. Their combined experiences cover all aspects of tuna longline operations, from catching, processing, exporting, value adding and domestic retail sales through to participation in government scientific and management committees and industry representation at international fisheries forums. I am confident they will perform admirably in their new roles”.

The new Directors join Adam Whan, Paul Lavalle and Joe Basile who were reappointed to the Tuna Australia board.

Stay informed

Industry news delivered to your inbox every 1-2 weeks

Subscribe to other updates:
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.